Thomas von Oesen

Science journalist, moderator and engineer.

I was born in Springe, Lower Saxony, on 24 January 1963. I studied electro-mechanics at the University of Hanover and afterwards was active as an entrepreneur for several years until I joined the Hanover Messe AG in late 1996. After a variety of additional trainings including rhetoric, presence and authenticity, inner centering, moderation/hosting techniques, voice work and meditation, in 2004 a wide-ranging involvement followed as a radio moderator and editor of a variety of entertainment and science programmes, at first with the regional radio broadcaster "Radio Flora" and later with "LeineHertz106.5."
In 2005 I started my science magazine Zukunftswerkstatt - The radio magazine for Sustainability and Shaping the Future – a platform for prominent experts from areas including politics, science, business and economics and the media to address urgent socially relevant topics. I make use of a so called open broadcasting slot to broadcast this science magazine, because I am thus editorially completely independent and at the same time my one-hour programmes enable me to dig more intensively into complex issues than is possible with conventional formats.

Interview partners to date include:



From politics:


Prof. Klaus Töpfer – Former Federal Environmental Minister (CDU), executive director of the United Nations Environmental Programme (UNEP) and executive director, Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies (IASS), Potsdam (Germany)
Dr. Heiner Geisler – former General Secretary of the CDU and Federal Minister of Family Policy
Renate Künast – former Federal Agricultural Minister and national chair of Bündnis 90/Die Grünen, etc.
David McAllister – Former Minister-President of Lower Saxony, chair of the CDU in Lower Saxony and leading CDU candidate for the 2014 European parliamentary elections, etc.
Mechtild Rothe – Former Vice-President of the European Parliament (SPD), etc.
Rebecca Harms – Bündnis 90/Die Grünen leading candidate in the last 3 European Parliament elections, etc.
Hans-Heinrich Sander – Former Minister of the Environment for Lower Saxony (FDP), etc.
Stefan Wenzel – Minister of the Environment for Lower Saxony (Bündnis 90/Die Grünen), etc.
Edelgard Bulmahn – Vice-President of the German Parliament and former Federal Minister of Research (SPD), etc.
Walter Hirche – Minister of Economics for Lower Saxony (FDP), etc.



From the sciences:


Prof. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker – Former director of the UN Centre of Science and Technology in New York, president of the University of Kassel and of the Wuppertal Institute of Climate, Environment and Energy, etc.
Prof. Hans Joachim Schellnhuber – Climate researcher, director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research and longstanding member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, etc.
Prof. Mojib Latif – Climate researcher, meteorologist and professor at the Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Studies in Kiel, etc.
Prof. Claudia Kemfert – Economist and director of thje Division of Energy, Transportation and the Environment of the German Institute of Economic Studies, etc.
Dr. Sebastian Pflugbeil – Physicist and president of the German Association of Radiation Protection, etc.
Lars Olov Höglund – Former chief designer for energy provider Vattenfall
Prof. Nebojsa Nakicenovic – Professor Energy Economics at the TU Vienna and deputy director of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA), etc.
Dr. Stefan Lechtenböhmer – Economist and director of the research group „Future Structures of Energy and Mobility at the Wuppertal Institute, etc.
Prof. Jürgen Kropp – Climate researcher at the Potsdam Institute of earth and environmental sciences
Dr. Gerhard Knies – Physicist and inventor of the Desertec Project
Prof. Wolfgang Pfaffenberger – Professor of Economic Policy and chair of the Association of Energy Science and Energy Policy, etc.
Prof. Wolfgang Kromp – Physicist and former director of the Institut of Risk studies at the University of Vienna, etc.
Prof. Wolfgang Renneberg – Physicist, fully-qualified barrister and former director of the Division of Reactor Safety, Radiation Protection and Nuclear Waste managemenmt of the Federal Ministry of the Environment, etc.
Prof. Werner Schneider – Geologist and professor at the University of Braunschweig, etc.
Dr. Hans-Helge Jürgens – Hydraulic engineer, etc.
Prof. Uwe Leprich – Energy and economics researcher and director of the IZES Institut für ZukunftsEnergieSysteme (i.e. future energy systems) gGmbH, Saarbrücken, etc.
Prof. Christian Wolf – Professor of law and Chair of the Department of Civil Law, German, European and International Civil Procedural Law at the University of Hanover etc.
Prof. Joachim Radkau – Historian and Professor of Contemporary History at the University of Bielefeld, Department of History and Philosophy, etc.
Prof. Hans-Peter Dürr – Elementary-particle physicist, student and friend of Werner Heisenberg, former director of the Max Planck Institute of Physics in Munich, etc.
Prof. Jan-Michael Rost – Philosopher, physicist and director of the Max-Planck-Institute of the Physics of Complex Systems in Dresden, etc.
and many more ...



From Business and Economics:


Thomas Jorberg – Chair of the GLS Bank
Prof. Götz Werner – Founder and supervisory board member of the "dm" chemist's chain and inventor of the concept of the "unconditional basic income," etc.
Dr. Ralf Güldner – Deputy managing director of E.ON Kernkraft and president of the German Nuclear Forum, etc.
Björn Klusmann – Managing director of the German National Association of Renewable Energy (BEE)
Hans-Peter Wandt – Manager for Advanced Technology at Toyota Germany, etc
Dr. Benjamin Bongardt – Former transporation expert for VCD and consultant for environmental policy, NABU, etc.



Journalists and authors:


Dr. Franz Alt – former television moderator, editor, journalist and author, etc.
Fred Pearce – British science journalist
Pedro Rosa Mendes – Portuguese journalist, correspondent and author
Swetlana Alexijewitsch – Belarusian journalist and author, etc.
Linda Polman – Dutch journalist and author
Sascha Müller-Kraenner – Author and director of the European programme of the US environmental organisation The Nature Conservancy"
Wolf Böwig – photo journalist and author